For example, try finding a funny picture of an animal with a goofy expression. Send it to your crush along with the line “this reminded me of you” for a playful, funny message. Or, find a song that makes you think of your crush and send it to them. Ask them to listen to it and see what they think about it. You could also try an opener about something that happened earlier, like, “Did you see what Mr. Hendrix did today in science class? Worst. Beatbox. Ever. ”

“So I hear you’re a finalist for the district science project? Congratulations! What’s your project about?” “I’m new to this part of town. What do people around here usually do for fun?” “Have any plans for summer break? I think I just might die if I have to stay in my house the whole time. "

Try lines like, “You killed it in your soccer game tonight! Maybe you could show me how to score a goal sometime. ” Or, “Congrats on getting the highest grade on the math test! I’d love to learn some of your study tricks. ” Or even, “Your art project looked super cool hung up in the hallway. How long did it take to make?” Try to stay away from cheesy pick-up lines, because they’re hard to respond to.

Tease them gently about something they’re good at/confident about. If your crush is a star athlete, try saying, “So how many extra goals is your team going to score when they don’t have you on the field?” Or, you could say, “With the high grades you get, I’m starting to wonder if you’re bribing the teachers!”

At the end of your conversation, say something like “You’re fun to talk to — text me later?” or “See you tomorrow at school?” to build on the progress you made. If your crush stops replying to you, don’t assume that they don’t like you. They might have gotten busy, fallen asleep, or accidentally let their phone die.

Look into your crushes eyes a little more than is comfortable. It’s hard to do, but it sends the signal that your crush is irresistible—something everyone wants to feel like. However, staring at someone for too long can make them uncomfortable, so don’t overdo it. If you want to send a stronger signal, try glancing down at your crush’s mouth every now and then to send the message that you want to kiss them.

“That dress looks great on you. Where did you get it?” “Are you going to the firework show this weekend? It’s supposed to be really fun!” “You seem like a math whiz. Can you help me do this algebraic equation?”

Keep your introduction simple by saying, “Hi, I’m Georgia. I don’t think we’ve met before. ” Or, “My name’s Frank. What’s yours?”

Try something like, “So how do you think you did on the English test today?” Or, “I was thinking of going rollerblading this weekend. Have you ever been?” Or even, “I’ve been watching that new show You on Netflix. Have you seen it?” Avoid sticky subjects, like politics or religion, unless your crush invites the conversation.

Try not to overdo it by touching your crush too much. Keep your hand held on their arm for just a second, then pull away. If your crush pulls away from you or doesn’t seem comfortable with you touching them, don’t push it. Some people don’t like being touched, even by people that they know.

”The question you asked in class today was really on point!” ”Your science project looks really cool. How long did that take you?” ”I saw you in gym class today, you were nailing those free throws!”

Say something like, “Well, I’ve gotta go help my friend with some homework. What are your plans after school tomorrow?”

Try saying something like, “Hey, are you busy this coming Saturday? I have a couple tickets to that movie that just came out. " Or, “I was thinking about going to that taco truck that just opened up. Do you want to come with me?” Or even, “I really liked talking with you today. Do you want to hang out this weekend sometime so we can chat more?” You don’t have to call it a date if you don’t want to. Just ask the other person to join you in what you’re doing. If your crush asks you whether it’s a date, then you can say it is.